From December 21, 2007 Hungary is a member of the Schengen Area, and applies the Schengen legislation in full. Significant changes subsequent to Hungary’s Schengen-membership are that

  • visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen States are valid also for Hungary,
  • visas issued by Hungarian representations abroad and residence permits issued by Hungarian national authorities are also valid for the entire Schengen Area.

Please note that the latest amendment of the Article 5 (1) (a) of the Schengen Borders Code (entered into force on 19 July 2013) introduces new criteria for travel documents of third-country nationals entitling to cross the borders:

  • the validity of the travel document shall last until at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of the Member States. In a justified case of emergency, this obligation may be waived;
  • the travel document shall have been issued within the previous 10 years.

Please check the list of countries, which citizens may travel to Hungary without visa: and Visa Waiver Agreements (

Visas have to be applied for at your nearest Hungarian Embassy. Please note that conditions of entry to Hungary can change and all WUOC 2016 participants are advised to keep abreast of the current situation by consulting their local Hungarian Embassy.